History Of The Museum
In 1975, the Oregon Military Department established the Oregon Military Museum as the official state repository for military weapons, documents, and artifacts relating to the military history of the citizens of Oregon. This collection of irreplaceable treasures defines Oregon’s military legacy and preserves it for future generations.
Until 2009, the Oregon Military Museum collections were housed and displayed in several buildings located at Camp Withycombe, including the 6,000 sq. ft. main facility, the 1911 Battery A Field Artillery Horse Barn, and the World War II Quonset Hut. As the result of a massive base realignment process, the Museum has relocated to the 32,000 sq. ft. old Clackamas Armory at Camp Withycombe. The Museum’s move into the much larger building provides it with unique opportunities to expand operations to better fulfill its mission. It also presents some challenges.